Progress report

Just for me. Seriously, none of you should be reading this. This is me using my blog as a personal journal. Go watch Buffy the Vampire Slayer instead, then come talk to me about it later. It will be more fun!

But if you must continue reading this post, then I will tell you the topic of my thesis, as it stands. It’s not the topic started out with¬† —¬† at all — and that is unfortunate; I am mostly viewing this whole exercise as an education in what not to do. But anyway, my topic now is basically this: we spend lots of money restoring and creating wetlands and then we suck at seeing how well they are doing. There is no great spike in money for site monitoring forthcoming anytime soon, so I’m looking for ways to better use the dataset that current and past monitoring protocols have generated (and are generating now). Wouldn’t it also be nice if the folks who are doing this monitoring would share their data with the rest of the world? Wetland Festivus for the rest of us? Stupid government agencies sitting on their data and never publishing a shred of anything. I’m not saying that last part. But I’m thinking it**.

Yesterday: No hours spent writing, but that’s okay because Brad took the kids to a birthday party today and so I had a guaranteed big window of time to work on it. I didn’t go to bed until after midnight, though. That was an accident due to, well, not looking at my watch.

Today: 2.5 hours spent writing, for reals. I have new citations and paragraphs and everything now to prove it! However, I think I may have made my entire introduction obsolete and will have to re-write it. Sigh.

I have met my obligations today. I am now free to weave, bake cookies, clean the bathroom, and play with my kids when they get home from the birthday party. And order the rest of my seeds. And make a calendar for planting seeds and transplanting starts. Yay! Perhaps I should consider measuring the pasture today so I can start developing an estimate for how much it will cost to fence in my hypothetical flock of sheep.
I can do all these things guilt-free today! Time management is so awesome!

 

**I’ve thought that often. When I worked on the GSL, we had a pile of data — a big pile — with nary a publication of any of it. There was all sorts of concern about giving away the locations of our super secret sampling sites. I get needing to keep those under wraps, but then why not just do that, eh? And still let someone publish something. Or make a presentation of it to someone. Something, please! The whole pile of data just sits. I made a map with some of it and sent it to a professor as a project (there was much, much angst and worrying about that from the bosses). My map, sadly, did not reveal anything super cool about the deep brine layer like I totally hoped it would (also: it did not reveal the locations of our sampling sites), so I’m still left with just the knowledge that the deep brine layer smells very, very bad and not much else. But there’s data about it, oh yes there is, and there’s more to explore but no limnologist will ever get their hands on it because no limnologist works on that crew (including me I’m not a limnologist I just think limnology is cool) and errrrrrr. I’m getting het up.

About sayingthings

K lives in the US with her man and kiddos, knits, cans, dehydrates, bakes bread, (but doesn't cook regular food, particularly), crochets, spins, gardens, studies for a degree that never seems to end, and um, works. Sometimes she wastes time online. Also -- and family, she's looking at you here -- sometimes she swears and says things you might not agree with. But she still loves you.

Posted on March 8, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. The forward and backwards steps of the process. You know what you want to say, what’s left is to process of getting it said. Good luck!

    • Always so kind, Margene. You’re right, forward and back, but I’d prefer more forward, since I’ve been standing still for so long in a total haze of wondering what to do next. Tonight, I am making a map.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

