Eating! And Gardening!

Last week C started to eat solid foods.  I am not so sad about this in a sentimental way as I am in the practical way that his poop will now begin to stink.  Has begun to, rather.  We started him with commercial (whole grain! organic! we are stereotypes!) rice cereal, and have now also introduced bananas.  I might record each introduction here so I can find it later.  It seems weird, but people ask me relatively often when and how to introduce various baby foods.  It’s as if I’m some kind of expert, which I’m clearly not, having only had experience with 1.5 babies.  But hey,  I am a sentimental sap, and maybe someday I’ll just want to know.  This blog is for my own recordkeeping purposes, too.

Here he is at his first meal.  You can see he is really wanting to take charge.  He’s an independent fellow.  Wonder where that came from?

cs-first-meal_030909_3

cs-first-meal_030909_11

We rented a plot at a community garden this year in a town a couple over.  I’ve been torn about whether DRIVING to a community garden makes any sense at all, energy-wise, emissions-wise, money-wise.  And I really don’t know the answer to that.  But I finally decided that soul-wise it made perfect sense, so I rented it.  We all went down there late Sunday morning and cleared the weeds.  We kind of accidentally hand-tilled it while we were at it.  I sure wish we’d taken a camera for before-and-after pictures.  Last night I finished up the list, calendar, and diagram for planting it.  This week I’ll put in the scallions and shallots, I think.

About sayingthings

K lives in the US with her man and kiddos, knits, cans, dehydrates, bakes bread, (but doesn't cook regular food, particularly), crochets, spins, gardens, studies for a degree that never seems to end, and um, works. Sometimes she wastes time online. Also -- and family, she's looking at you here -- sometimes she swears and says things you might not agree with. But she still loves you.

Posted on March 17, 2009, in Fambly. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

