Friends and Food, Food and Friends

Yesterday I was delighted to have a knitting friend who had moved away come by a visit on her way out of town.  It was nice to see Anne again, and nice to meet her man, J.  H shares a birthday with Anne, and he enjoys frequently reciting the three different Anne’s we know (he was only reciting two before, but now he has added “the Anne in Canada”).

This evening the D’s visited.  They will be moving soon (sad).  Little A is getting much easier to communicate with (for me as her not-mom).  I guess we will need to find reasons to visit.  I think we should just swing by on a driving trip to PA.  Brad will take a lot of convincing for that, though.  And I, myself, would only want to undertake such an effort if we had it really well-planned.

Yesterday when I arrived home from the grocery store, I found Brad madly kneading bread dough.  I really do think the kneading was a bit madder than the usual kind.  He excitedly pointed me to a website that explained some principles of making good WW bread at home.  The most striking (um, disturbing?) thing, by far, was the recommendation to knead for 20-30 minutes.  Do you see why I might view his kneading as mad now?  The author was quite correct, however, at least if your goal is soft bread that is excellent for sandwiches.

bread-baked_0321091

It’s not artisan-style bread, but it is very good.  I like something a wee bit denser/crustier/more robust for eating at the table, but this will serve us well now that we’re back on peanut butter (we’ve been avoiding it, but I finally decided a couple of days ago to be the guinea pig and eat some.  I haven’t gotten sick, so we’re full speed ahead now).

I canned some pickled Brussels sprouts today.  The mere thought of this particular food was the final straw that pushed me to buy a new canner last year.  I had only gotten rid of the steam canner last December or so – I so wish now that I hadn’t, but I couldn’t stop thinking of these once I had started (no, I’ve never even tasted any before, so it’s still just a thought).  I was propelled me to purchase a new canner, this time a PC (not because it’s needed for this recipe but because it just seemed like a better long-term buy.  It was, hands down.  Please keep in mind that you are reading the words of a tightwad; that’s how much value I feel the PC has over the BWB)  But by the time I had acquired the canner, I had missed Brussels sprouts season.  Weeping…
pickled-sprouts_032209_1
Today, fulfillment!  Here they are in their olive-green glory.  I am having difficulty not opening a jar right now today, but I will have to wait about 6 weeks for them to cure.  Oh man oh man oh man.  I can only barely restrain myself.  Oh, sweet, sweet (I mean, sour, sour) pickled sprouts!

About sayingthings

K lives in the US with her man and kiddos, knits, cans, dehydrates, bakes bread, (but doesn't cook regular food, particularly), crochets, spins, gardens, studies for a degree that never seems to end, and um, works. Sometimes she wastes time online. Also -- and family, she's looking at you here -- sometimes she swears and says things you might not agree with. But she still loves you.

Posted on March 23, 2009, in Food, Friends. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

