YoYo Clown

I finished this little clown up this morning.  I originally intended it for H, to take some sting away from the fact that I plan to knit a little multi-colored elephant toy for C.  But when I asked H if he would like one, he said no.  But then he brightened up and offered to help me make it for C.  So it went.  H impressed me.  He cut out many of the circles, did some of the stitching (with assistance), and gathered up many yoyos too.  And he helped assemble the final product.  I even convinced (coerced?) Brad to help out, gathering up a few of the yoyos.

yoyo-clown_032309

It was lots of fun to make.  I think I could maybe get into the handsewing thing.  I’ve never loved sewing on a machine, and a couple of years ago it started to dawn on me that it’s at least partly because I don’t like being tied to the machine (obviously, that’s not the whole problem, since I do enjoy spinning on my wheel.  It’s only slightly more portable.)  But handsewing really takes care of that issue! I have a book on general needlework from the library right now I’m perusing.  I used it to help me figure out how to put hair on this little guy.  Um, the doll, not the babe.

c-and-clown_032309_21

I got the idea for this clown from the book “MaryJane’s Stitching Room” by MaryJane Butters.  I read her weekly column, which is published in the local paper, also, and I’ve paid enough attention to know that (1) I like some of what she offers and (2) she has awesome hair.

About sayingthings

K lives in the US with her man and kiddos, knits, cans, dehydrates, bakes bread, (but doesn't cook regular food, particularly), crochets, spins, gardens, studies for a degree that never seems to end, and um, works. Sometimes she wastes time online. Also -- and family, she's looking at you here -- sometimes she swears and says things you might not agree with. But she still loves you.

Posted on March 23, 2009, in Makin' Stuff. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

