Yesterday was packed and today was too

In the morning yesterday I took H to a basketball class, offered at one of the county’s recreation centers.  As soon as we  walked into the gym, where 25 or 30 small children were busy stretching, he switched from bubbling eagerness to sobbing terror.  It was surprising.  The children divided into three groups — shooting, passing, and dribbling.  I eventually walked him over to the shooting group and slooooowly dropped back as he warmed up to the activity.  By the end, he was running about as happily as the other children.

basketball_040409_4

It was a good reminder that his bashfulness can extend into social situations, although it doesn’t often.

basketball_040409_1_crop

His dribbling seemed about on par with the other children, but maybe we could practice the throwing/shooting a bit.

During the day my task was to watch the toddler daughter of some friends while Brad helped them pack up their condo for a move across the country.  I feel very sad about this move but I think I’ll save that for later or maybe not divulge further here at all. Aside from that, I was very nervous about the babysitting.  While  she’s a perfectly  normal child, my children are maybe abnormally calm, and I was not sure how to handle all three.  In particular, I’m not sure how to get two children of very different ages to nap when they both get tired and cranky around the same time.  (The age spread is a common one.  I don’t know how other parents handle it.)  Other challenges seemed surmountable.  Fortunately, Brad came home about naptime, and all children had a good day, I think.  I hope we get to see her again before she becomes totally unrecognizable.  The D’s are like family to me — to all of us, in fact.  There will be quite a desolate space here without them.

After the D’s came to pick up their little girl I took the boys to a birthday party to which H had been invited.  I will now admit  grinchiness about  children’s parties.  I was not looking forward to it, especially because I would rather have hung about at home with the D’s.  But an RSVP is an RSVP, so off we went to a business called “Bouncin’ Off the Walls.”  You read that right.  It is a party place filled with huge inflatable jumping-type toys.  It was less dreadul than I had imagined.  H impressed me by overcoming his fear of the slide.  The first time he tried, his fear did get the better of him; he froze and was rescued by one of the other children’s fathers, sobbing.  But later he tried again.   With (physical) pressure from a friend climbing the stairs behind hime, he arrived at the top and started down.  I saw true horror at his decision on his face for an instant, and then glee.  After that, the rest of the party was up-down-up-down-up-down on that slide.  It did my heart good to see him overcome fear twice in one day.

Today was H’s Easter program at church. (And yes, that’s a lovely typo in the video filename — but I can’t upload anymore videos to Flickr this month!  So sorry!)

I was a little worried when I was told the Pre-K, Kindergarten, and 1st Grade children would be presenting a Passion Play.  I mean, that sounds a little intense, doesn’t it?  But they did keep it age-appropriate and even playful (hard to imagine, huh?) and the children did really well.

I didn’t even hear one forgotten or delayed line.  If you noticed H’s line, Brad kept telling him that’s what he’d be saying during the program (fortunately, that sorry humor flew right over H’s head).  Brad expresses constant amazement that the foundations of the church don’t crack when he walks in.

Aaaaand to wrap up, here’s a joke H told us tonight:  Why did the chicken cross the kitchen?

To eat.

It’s at least as funny as the get-to-the-other-side iteration.

About sayingthings

K lives in the US with her man and kiddos, knits, cans, dehydrates, bakes bread, (but doesn't cook regular food, particularly), crochets, spins, gardens, studies for a degree that never seems to end, and um, works. Sometimes she wastes time online. Also -- and family, she's looking at you here -- sometimes she swears and says things you might not agree with. But she still loves you.

Posted on April 6, 2009, in Fambly. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. “tell me when it’s over!”

    Is that what H is saying?

  2. bball looks like tons of fun!

  3. remember to shoot some video at the next bball thing.

Leave a Reply

