Mispronunciation, Berries, and curiosity

H asked today, “Have you ever been to Schakaschko?” (I swear it sounded like there were sch’s in there)
Me: Where?
H: Schakaschko.
Me: I can’t really understand you.  Where?
H: Schakaschko (more forcefully)
Me: Costco?
H: No, SCHAKASCHKO (definitely irritated now)
Me: Chicago?
H: Oh, yeah.  Chicago.  Have you ever been there?

The answer to that question is no.  Where did he hear about Chicago?

These childish mispronunciations are charming to me.  I hope it doesn’t make me a bad parent that I don’t usually correct them.  Brad does, so H is getting an education in how to pronounce the English language from one parent, at least.

I took some pictures of canning efforts from the past week or so, but they look boringly like a handful of canning jars with dark liquid in them.  Just trust me that they exist — a few jars of blackberry jam, blackberry syrup, and cranberry syrup.  There was a ridiculous sale on blackberries;  I didn’t ever expect to make blackberry anything, frankly, because they are soooo expensive.  So I’m excited, okay?  Thanks to my sister for advice on how she makes her blackberry jam.  Saved me buying a special screen for my food mill and resulted in a perfect set-up.  Because I am sort of thrifty, I find great satisfaction in using leftover liquid for things like syrup and cannot believe I’ve thrown it out in the past.  I’m also glad to have a dehydrator now to use some of the remnants of juicing fruits for jelly (I just use a jelly bag for that, nothing fancy, so the solids leftover from juicing are still full of flavor and, unless they are also full of seeds or yucky bits, are good for making into fruit leather.  Very high fiber fruit leather.)  A canner and dehydrator complement each other well and reduce kitchen waste.  Not that I was in need of cranberry syrup. No one needs cranberry syrup.  However, since maple syrup prices shot up in the last couple of years, we have turned more to homemade fruit purees and syrups.

Baby C is becoming aggressively curious.  Tonight at a restaurant I was holding him on my lap after supper, enjoying an after-dinner coffee and I stopped paying attention for, oh, maybe four or five seconds.  Just long enough for him to grab the mug and pour it all over both of us (no burns). And here’s how he busied himself this week as I was putting away some laundry:
c-is-curious_041509

A big deadline passed this week at work.  I am relieved to have it over and to have the only response so far be satisfaction.  It was a scramble at the end.  I used to be able to keep a tighter leash on things, but now I don’t have as much time to document discussions, and things like this happen.  At least the deliverable was on time in the end.  I don’t have quite as much expected of me now as when I was working more like 24-30 hours a week, but man.  Almost.  I am fortunate that my co-workers were very helpful.  I am happy to have the opportunity to work from home, especially as many people have no such option.  But it can be stressful and delineating boundaries is much, much more difficult.

About sayingthings

K lives in the US with her man and kiddos, knits, cans, dehydrates, bakes bread, (but doesn't cook regular food, particularly), crochets, spins, gardens, studies for a degree that never seems to end, and um, works. Sometimes she wastes time online. Also -- and family, she's looking at you here -- sometimes she swears and says things you might not agree with. But she still loves you.

Posted on April 18, 2009, in Fambly, Food, Makin' Stuff, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

