I’ve got to chill with the full weekends thing

Saturday: Helping to clean out my Aunt Bessie’s house. She passed away a couple of months ago. I don’t like the thought of taking stuff from a dead relative’s house; it just seems to vulture-like, but her sisters were clearly desperate to get it cleared out, so I took the sugar, a couple bags of flour, and a tiny food processor, which has now replaced our other tiny food processors. The basement is still nearly full, so hopefully Bessie’s sisters really will give me a call when they start hauling things up. They are both in their 80’s (I think) and they will definitely need some help. Bessie has a beautiful, huge fermentation crock down there (I have no spot for it, but I admire it). And a large amount of uneaten stored food.

For supper I got to go out with some old friends who were with me on a study-abroad in 1998. Only five of us were there, but it was really great to see them again. I haven’t seen Shulamit since maybe 1999 — not too sure. I didn’t catch some of the conversation, so I promised them I’d make an update-questionnaire to post on our Yahoo group so we could find out what’s up with the folks who didn’t make it.

Directly after we headed way out of town to a Star Party hosted by the local Astronomical Society. H is now proclaiming that he wants to be an astronomer when he grows up. He’s actually been saying that for a while (along with fireman) but he now says it with much greater conviction. I was very impressed with his understanding there as the society members let him look through their big telescopes and talked with him about what he was seeing. He was pretty excited about Saturn, I can tell you. Of course, who isn’t?

Sunday: We went on a family hike. This hike is notable because (1) it’s the first hike Baby C has been on, (2) it’s my first hike since before I was pregnant, which means about two years, and (3) it’s H’s first hike in which there was a specific goal to reach.

b-and-c-and-h-living-room-hike_041909_1

Here are the boys before things went a little wrong.

We headed for the Living Room in the front up behind the university. This is the first hike we ever took H on, too, actually. And the same thing happened — we took a wrong turn or two and ended up on a rocky spine, with me feeling a little hysterical, what with a young baby in a chest carrier. ridge_living-room-hike_041909_1 This time we got lost in a worse spot, and I decided not to go on. Clambering along this ridge would be fine without a baby, but with him, I just wasn’t willing:

So Brad and H went on without me and I climbed carefully back down the rocky scramble we’d already gone up. I saw them a few times along the ridge, going very slowly. H did a great job! He wasn’t scared and was very focused on getting to the goal. Here he is on one of the “chairs” at the Living Room, eating his lunch in triumph. h-at-the-living-room_041909_21

I am a total wimp — my legs are all sore today, and I gave myself a mild ankle sprain on the way down by not looking where I was putting my feet. All should be back to normal in a day or two, but I can see that I will need to ramp my hiking back up slowly this summer.

And for the record, to get to the Living Room, you take the second main turn-off from the Shoreline Trail, not the first.  You don’t head up the bottom of the ravine; rather along the south side.

About sayingthings

K lives in the US with her man and kiddos, knits, cans, dehydrates, bakes bread, (but doesn't cook regular food, particularly), crochets, spins, gardens, studies for a degree that never seems to end, and um, works. Sometimes she wastes time online. Also -- and family, she's looking at you here -- sometimes she swears and says things you might not agree with. But she still loves you.

Posted on April 20, 2009, in Fambly, Friends, The Great Outdoors. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

