Reciprocal photography

H gets to play with our old camera sometimes.  And it sure is a nice day today outside.reciprocal-photography_042209_11

reciprocal-photography_042209_23Look — the Brunnera!  I thought I killed a lot of plants with neglect last year, but many are coming back.  Little troopers.brunnera_042209

And due to the deafening clamor of nobody asking about the tatting (what?  what?  isn’t tatting super-fascinating?  Isn’t that why it’s so popular and everybody is doing it?), here is some tatting I did today.  tatted-chain_042209_11I am finding this craft not forgiving of mistakes.  However, it is entertaining, easy to put down and pick up (at least when the pattern is very simple) and oh-so-little.  I’m no good at it still, but this little piece does represent improvement.  I’ve just been tatting rings and chains over and over and then pretty much tossing them.  My tension should improve with practice.  And I’m slowly catching on to the basic technique.  There are a lot of other techniques to learn, but I’m just trying to get the hang of rings, chains, and regular lock joins.  And when I use two shuttles, I’ve got to figure out what to do with the non-working one while making a ring with the other.  Here’ s the marvelously named site that helped me finally be able to tat more than one ring in sequence.  Niiiiiice and slow.  I found some good videos online, too, but they didn’t break it down to quite the basic level I was needing.  I think I will use them to improve, though.  I don’t really do much of this; life is busy, but when I can find a few minutes, I practice.

About sayingthings

K lives in the US with her man and kiddos, knits, cans, dehydrates, bakes bread, (but doesn't cook regular food, particularly), crochets, spins, gardens, studies for a degree that never seems to end, and um, works. Sometimes she wastes time online. Also -- and family, she's looking at you here -- sometimes she swears and says things you might not agree with. But she still loves you.

Posted on April 22, 2009, in Fambly, Makin' Stuff, Plants. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. There are tatting demos on my web site that may be helpful.
    http://www.tattedlace.com/
    The main page has links to the Demos, the Gallery with some patterns, Tips, my Blog with tutorials and other tatty stuff.

  2. My web site has tatting demos that just keep on repeating for more than just the basic stuff.
    http://www.tattedlace.com/

    • Sharon, I can’t seem to get an e-mail through back to you, but thanks for the comment! I do like your site and will be using it further!

  3. Cool that you are practising your tatting! I like the pink thread! 🙂

  4. You got the right idea. Just keep practicing. You don’t do anything with the 2nd shuttle when you are tatting rings. It just hangs there and should not be in your way. It’s no different from tatting with a shuttle and leaving the ball of thread attached. It just lays there in your lap or on a table, depending on where you’re sitting. You only need to use 2 shuttles if you are using 2 colors or doing split rings or split chains which I’m pretty sure you aren’t doing yet.

    Looks like you’ve got a couple of little ones to keep you very busy, but if you do have time to be on the computer, there is a beginners class online that can be very supportive and helpful as you learn techniques. You can find out more at http://www.georgiaseitz.com/ and Sharon’s site (the comment before me) is very helpful too in visually seeing the process.

Leave a Reply

