Mark a book and melt crayons and learn about vaccinations

Tonight I learned some things about tatting, or rather how not to go about tatting.

  • I ran out of thread while making a bookmark, only 1.5 rings from the end. Maddening. I consulted a book that has some info about joining new thread. I didn’t understand it, but rather than go on-line and find out how to do it properly, I just decided to wing it.
  • Several dabs of glue and a lot of internal cursing later, I finished the bookmark.bookmark_042409_21
  • It’s my first piece-with-a-purpose, so I love it despite its flaws – flaws in tension, joins, twisted parts, and a weird topper that I just sort of made up on the fly and it shows.  I still love you, little bookmark.
  • Yes, that’s a romantic tatted bookmark photographed on top of the words “Is Pertussis Common?” Folks, bad news. It is common.  The book is The Vaccine Book by Robert W. Sears and I’m liking it.  The boys both have check-ups on Monday.  I should have read this book earlier, but I’m trying to fly through it now in order to set what I think is a reasonable schedule for Baby C’s vaccinations, then maybe I’ll circle back around and read it more carefully.  I’m not anti-vaccine, but I’m not comfortable with the American Academy of Pediatrics schedule; I find it too aggressive.  Why does a baby need to vaccinated against Hepatitis B on its very first day of life?  Or second day either?  Why why why?  H just got all his vaccinations along that schedule and he is fine, but I don’t wanna do it again.  This book is highly informative and I recommend it to anyone who is confused about vaccinations and facing choices about it.  I don’t presently intend to refuse any vaccinations.  I’d just like to get them administered a little more slowly (sorry, Baby C.  You’ll end up with more individual injections.  I know.  I don’t like it, either, but I think it’s best.)

Today H and I melted down some old crayons of his into multicolored round crayon cakes.  It was fun and much easier and less messy than I expected.  We also tried to make a sort of sun-catcher using crayon shavings, wax paper, tin foil, and the iron.  It worked.  We got a pretty, multi-colored star to hang in the window.  Unfortunately, it was so thin and brittle that it broke immediately.  We melted it into the cakes, so no harm done.

Planted beets yesterday, AKA vegetable candy.  And there are beans, canteloupe, and basil seeds being started inside.  I also replanted carrots and onions yesterday, thinking the seeds I planted two or three weeks ago dried out.  Uh-huh, wouldn’t you know that today, the old seeds were sprouting.  So now we’ll have a lot of carrots and onions to thin.  Oh well.  At least they didn’t die from my ineptitude, as I had thought.  That’s a good feeling.

The water spigot is turned on at the garden now, which makes it much easier, obviously.  No more bringing water along.  H is a good helper.  He likes to fill the watering cans and then water the garden.  Today I showed him the area set aside just for him (about 18″ of the four-foot bed).  He looked at it and said after a moment, “I’d really prefer a larger space.”  Hmph.  He must be my boy.  That’s all he’s getting for his sunflowers and daisies, though.  He can share the rest with us.

About sayingthings

K lives in the US with her man and kiddos, knits, cans, dehydrates, bakes bread, (but doesn't cook regular food, particularly), crochets, spins, gardens, studies for a degree that never seems to end, and um, works. Sometimes she wastes time online. Also -- and family, she's looking at you here -- sometimes she swears and says things you might not agree with. But she still loves you.

Posted on April 25, 2009, in Around the House, Fambly, Makin' Stuff, Tatting. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

