A somewhat arabesque bookmark

img_1109Not so complicated, no fancy techniques involved.  It was dressed by soaking it in water, spraying lightly with medium starch (I don’t have any liquid starch) and then pressing with a pretty hot iron.  There are still some problems, but there is improvement.  I tatted this with a #20 thread, so it is larger than the pattern specified (it recommended #30 or #40).  Pattern from Nancy Price, http://www.be-stitched.com/bookmark.asp.

The endless picots and repeating, circling motifs of many tatting patterns remind me strongly of arabesque decoration.  See?img_1108

This is my copy of the Quran, in both Arabic and English.  Not that I read Arabic.  I loved my Arabic class in college.  I mean, really loved it.  Alas, I promptly forgot how to read the alphabet, so I can  decipher not even one sound of it.  Fortunately, the English translation is in there too!  I love the sound of Arabic when it’s read fluidly and well.

Anyway, I haven’t read the Quran.  It was on my list of plans for last year, but it didn’t happen.  I didn’t bother to put it on my list for this year; I’m not going to push it.  But reading a surah here and there might be nice.

I  just finished reading the book Arts and Crafts Textiles, which I picked up randomly at the library last week.  It’s not a crafts book!  It’s an art history book!  Yeah, that surprised me too.  I’m not really given to knowing, well, anything about art history.  I will talk more about it later, because I enjoyed it and learned a lot from it (Imagine 99.99999% ignorance.  Now imagine 99.99998% ignorance after reading this book.)  I feel all this kinship with Frank Lloyd Wright now, doncha know?  And that is so decidedly NOT endlessly ornamented – I’m being inconsistent.  Or, put more positively, I am appreciating various types of visual art.

We’re off to the planetarium today.  More love for the contributions of Islamic civilization?

About sayingthings

K lives in the US with her man and kiddos, knits, cans, dehydrates, bakes bread, (but doesn't cook regular food, particularly), crochets, spins, gardens, studies for a degree that never seems to end, and um, works. Sometimes she wastes time online. Also -- and family, she's looking at you here -- sometimes she swears and says things you might not agree with. But she still loves you.

Posted on May 3, 2009, in Fambly, Makin' Stuff, Tatting. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. It is a pretty bookmark! 🙂

  2. knittingunderwater

    Very ornate bookmark. I like learning about all the cultures/religions as well, its fun not to be trapped into only learning about one thing, but to explore everything!

Leave a Reply

