Thinnings

I bought Broccoli raab seeds last year for a new attempt at container gardening (finally having accepted that it’s too shady out back for veggies, we put large pots in a sunny spot at the back of the complex parking lot.  They got stolen within a day.  **&%^)

So.  I hadn’t tasted broccoli raab.  I planted the seeds in my rented garden plot this spring, wondering what kind of germination I’d get (pretty good).  Today I did a bit of thinning — all the greens, the carrots, and the B.R.  Brought the thinnings home in a tupperware, pinched off the very short flower heads of the b.r and threw the rest of those ones away in the compost bucket.  Only to snatch them back out of the bucket 15 minutes later, wash them off, and eat them.  No, I never eaten out of the compost bucket before, but no, I’m also not above it.

See, apparently, you can eat the young leaves and stems of B.R.  And they’re GOOD, oh yes they are, all lightly fried in a little butter with slivers of onion.  And perched on a fried egg.  Oh my, yes.  So good they don’t last long enough for pictures, though they are kind of pretty.  So good that I felt guilty eating them, knowing I wasn’t sharing any with my family.

So now you know (if you didn’t already) and I do too.  B.R. has a place in future gardens.

Baby lettuce and arugula salad tonight, I suppose.

About sayingthings

K lives in the US with her man and kiddos, knits, cans, dehydrates, bakes bread, (but doesn't cook regular food, particularly), crochets, spins, gardens, studies for a degree that never seems to end, and um, works. Sometimes she wastes time online. Also -- and family, she's looking at you here -- sometimes she swears and says things you might not agree with. But she still loves you.

Posted on May 21, 2009, in Food. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. knittingunderwater

    Sounds really yummy! I must start working on my garden plot soon, I need to cut out a spot on the lawn. (Down with lawn!!!)

Leave a Reply

