I taught someone to tat

It just seems laughable, seeing as I’m really new and pretty much no good at tatting yet.  But I taught (sort of) my friend to tat a couple nights ago. I tatted her some very ridiculous “pride snowflakes,” which, yes, you guessed it, are tatted snowflakes made out of rainbow thread.  She picked up a shuttle somewhere during the evening and kind of got into it.

So here’s your shout-out, Marie.  I have spent years (years!) trying to subtly seduce you to the textile arts.  I guess I just hadn’t demonstrated the right one yet. It’s a fun, portable, unusual, inexpensive one.  What more could recommend it?  Maybe the fact that you, too,  can now tat pride Christmas ornaments?

About sayingthings

K lives in the US with her man and kiddos, knits, cans, dehydrates, bakes bread, (but doesn't cook regular food, particularly), crochets, spins, gardens, studies for a degree that never seems to end, and um, works. Sometimes she wastes time online. Also -- and family, she's looking at you here -- sometimes she swears and says things you might not agree with. But she still loves you.

Posted on May 22, 2009, in Friends, Makin' Stuff, Tatting. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. SWEET, I got a shoutout!! And a shuttle, as well as 4 diddly doo’s (don’t know what you textile artisans call them) of 100% mercenized cotton. Hell, I’ve even made one circle so far and learned how to make those loopy things that connect the shamma lammas! I learned a ton!! No really, I actually did, thanks for teaching me! 🙂 I have finally found something in the knittingish family that I can enjoy and won’t drive me bats! I’ll make you a married mother of two snowflake, similar to the queer snowflake you made me except not rainbows. Although I did get some gold thread because looking at it made me happy inside, so I can make you a fabulous flake (which would be kind of queer.) Thanks again for entertaining me and so patiently teaching me. 🙂

  2. I think it’s funny that it says that my comment is awaiting moderation. Like I was too exuberant in my first comment, and the gods of your blog are awaiting me being more moderate in my commentary. Kind of made me giggle. Okay, maybe only funny to me. But really, it’s funnyish. 🙂

Leave a Reply

