Finally some finished objects

Well, one WIP. But it sorta looks finished.
Pink and Wht Tat Bookmrk_061009
This bookmark is from this pattern. I’ve tatted it once before and I learned about the wildness that can result from not making sure your chains are all pulled to about the same tension. I’d post a pic of the first one too, but I’ve been letting the baby chew and twist it, so it’s looking pretty ragged at the moment.

And here, finally, is a baby dress I’ve been knitting. It should have only taken about three days or maybe four, but I needed to redo the crocheted edging. Topaz Baby dress_061009_1When I attempted to unpick the edging on one side, I succeeded instead in unpicked the kitchener-stitched joining. Argh! So there was more work to fix that up. I sure hope the parents of the intended recipient like it. I am not so happy with the yarn choice now I see it all done — it’s Vanna’s Choice, which has heretofore been my favored acrylic. Maybe it still is, but I just don’t like it in a stockinette-based garment. I had planned to do it with Cotton-Ease but was seduced by the acrylic. Wrong choice, I think.

About sayingthings

K lives in the US with her man and kiddos, knits, cans, dehydrates, bakes bread, (but doesn't cook regular food, particularly), crochets, spins, gardens, studies for a degree that never seems to end, and um, works. Sometimes she wastes time online. Also -- and family, she's looking at you here -- sometimes she swears and says things you might not agree with. But she still loves you.

Posted on June 11, 2009, in Knitting, Makin' Stuff, Tatting. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Marie McMuffin

    … not a knitting blog you say? Huh. Suspect. (As you can see, I’m catching up on your blog tonight.) But just let me say, I freaking HATE IT when I unpick the kitchener-stitched joining. Aaargh. It’s TERRIBLE.

  2. Marie McMuffin

    P.S. I think the dress is super cute! Can you make one in my size? Preferrably Vanna’s Choice. Is that like, Vanna White endorsed it yarn? I feel confused about the name. Did a sheep rancher have a daughter named Vanna? But really, the dress is a-dorable.

Leave a Reply

