Single-cat household

Six and a half years ago, my roommate, Marie, called me at work and said she would be going to get a cat and if I wanted a say in things, I’d need to meet her at the Humane Society.

Not being one to trust Marie’s cat-selecting skills or ability to resist getting two (as it turned out, I think she was the one who stood firm on one-cat-only-policy), I took a long lunch and went down there.  We came away with  little black, medium hair kitten which we not-so-promptly named Gracie.

I looked like this a lot, but usually less squinty.

I looked like this a lot, but usually less squinty.

Here is what Gracie was like:

  1. She bit butts.  You know when you sit in a ladder-back chair, if you’re the least bit ample, a little flesh might press against the opening at the bottom?  Well, Gracie bit that.
  2. Gracie attacked legs.  She attacked with a big bear-type hug, complete with claws, and then scampered off.
  3. Gracie liked the shower.  At first, I just thought “geesh.  voyeur,” but then when I got an opaque shower curtain, she would sit between the inner and outer curtains throughout showers.  And if you baited her by poking the curtain, she went nuts.
  4. Gracie liked bath-time — not her own bath-time, no.  But the boys’ bath-time.  She usually perched on the edge of the tub, like a sentinel, dipping the tip of her tail in the water without knowing it, then flouncing off at some point, sprinkling water everywhere.
  5. Gracie liked to climb trees.  Once after I trimmed her claws, I watched her try to climb down a tree.  It was more like a slither and it was so pitiful, I could never trim her claws again.
  6. Gracie ate grass, which explains why I planted and re-planted ornamental grasses at the corner of the planter bed.
  7. Gracie also loved corn husks and carrot tops.  And fennel stalks.  I would find bits of these around the house anytime I’d brought them home and prepped them for dinner.  She would even pull them out of the trash.
  8. Gracie never roamed far or wanted to stay outside long.  Once she was gone for three days and I posted signs all over and thought for sure she’d fallen into the creek, which was swollen at the time.  She returned the next day.  I like to think it was her once-in-a-lifetime adventure.
  9. Gracie climbed my first Christmas tree.  This past year, she eyed and mouthed the popcorn strings, but had learned to leave it alone on the whole.
  10. Gracie was very dominated by my other cat.  Her only territory was the bathroom, and she sat in there a lot.  It sure amplified her meowing.
  11. Gracie terrified my son, H.  He wouldn’t walk around her if she was lying across the hallway.  I think she scratched him once only, but that was apparently enough.  By all indications, H hated Gracie, but he was pretty broken up today.
  12. Gracie liked to sleep right-next-to my feet and to stand right-next-to my shins.
  13. Gracie was a naughty little cat.
  14. Gracie got really sick about five years ago right after her feline leukemia shot.  Then a little over a year ago she developed stomatitis, an immune disorder (yes, I suspect they are related).  We’ve been treating it since then, but we sort of ran out of options and nothing was working anymore.IMG_1322
  15. Today after a brief vet visit we came home and I let Gracie do all the things she liked that we haven’t let her do for fear of allergens — go outside, chew plants, mouth carrot tops.  Then we went back this evening.  I’m not all super broken up about it; it’s been a long time coming.  But when you get down to the brass tacks of euthanasia, it’s more emotional than I thought it would be.

Have a rest now, little butt biter.  Here’s hoping the next round is a little easier for you.IMG_1329

About sayingthings

K lives in the US with her man and kiddos, knits, cans, dehydrates, bakes bread, (but doesn't cook regular food, particularly), crochets, spins, gardens, studies for a degree that never seems to end, and um, works. Sometimes she wastes time online. Also -- and family, she's looking at you here -- sometimes she swears and says things you might not agree with. But she still loves you.

Posted on July 2, 2009, in Fambly, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Awwww, RIP Gracie. She was an awesome cat and will be missed.

  2. Marie McMuffin

    Bye bye Gracie Lu. :-/

  3. it’s never easy honey

    i am so sorry your little gracie got sick in the first place
    that is much too young

    it’s always the naughty stuff however that endears them to us

    so it isn’t our/their virtues that make the indivigual……..it’s their FAULTS that set them apart and we remember fondly later

    she was a very pretty cat
    and now she gets to talk to my chickens and ducks that are over there too

    vi

  4. I’m so sorry you lost Gracie. Loss is always emotional, but being able to give her peace and comfort is a gift she deserved.

  5. knittingunderwater

    I’m sorry about that, hope you guys are doing well.

  6. Rest in peace, Gracie. It is always hard to say goodbye, even when you know it is coming. 😦

  7. I am so sorry to hear about Gracie. She was such a cute cat. She will be missed. My love to you all as you adjust to being without her. *Hugs*

  8. While it might seem that I dislike cats due to my allergy, I do have a soft spot for them. The passing of pets is never easy. Thanks for eulogizing beautifully, as you always do.

  9. Awww…God bless Gracie’s soul! Pets are part of the family and their passing can be just as hard to take as any other member of the family!

    I had a kitty that loved to sit on the edge of the tub when I took a bath. Once he decided to stretch across the tub so his front paws were on the wall side of the tub and his back paws were on the other side of the tub; making a bridge across me, LOL! He soon realized he was stuck and meowed for help. He freaked when I picked him up and put him on the floor, but he never did that again, LOL! He also used to fetch red pom-poms. He passed away about 12 years ago and I still miss him dearly!

Leave a Reply

