If I ran the circus

I read this book to H tonight for bedtime. We’ve read this book many times, and I’ve always thought it was okay — not one of the great Seuss books, but all right.

Tonight it hit me like a thunderbolt that Seuss had a total grip on the way my five-year-old’s mind works when he’s planning something big. He’s never envisioned running a circus, but nearly every day he fantasizes at length about some project or other. He narrates his plans to me, and they become more and more grandiose. Almost incidentally, I am assigned a starring role in implementing those plans. Today it was the building of a boat — the whole thing got increasingly complicated throughout the duration of a 40-minute car ride. Yesterday it was a miniature playground. And the long-standing plan is the construction of a “house” (the plan has actually morphed into an anachronistic castle, complete with church, bowling alley, school, post office, park, and of course, house. Plus whatever else occurs to him.). He dreamed up this plan months ago, and I told him the sticks he planned to use for construction wouldn’t be available until fall, when the cottonwoods out front drop a bunch of twigs. I thought that would deter him enough to forget about it. Nope. He mentions it at least once per week as “the house we’re going to build with sticks and paper in the fall,” each time with additional details.  I really do not know what I will do come fall.

I bow to Dr. Seuss.

This weekend has been busy with swimming, hiking, holiday parties and fireworks, and a get-together with my brother Dave’s family today.K C Dave PrkCity_070509

Where are the other four kids?  No idea...

Where are the other five kids? No idea...

I swear, there’s a little more to say about our trip to the Northwest.  Mostly about the twin awesomenesses of OMSI and drivers in Oregon.  I’m getting to it.  And even pictures of the fiberlicious acquisitions.

About sayingthings

K lives in the US with her man and kiddos, knits, cans, dehydrates, bakes bread, (but doesn't cook regular food, particularly), crochets, spins, gardens, studies for a degree that never seems to end, and um, works. Sometimes she wastes time online. Also -- and family, she's looking at you here -- sometimes she swears and says things you might not agree with. But she still loves you.

Posted on July 6, 2009, in Books, Fambly. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

