Recipe: Bengali Breakfast Grains

My sister made this while I was visiting her and I’m a fan.  The original recipe is here. Sorry, my gluten-free friends, no touchy for you. But I suspect it would also be good with steel-cut oats. Maybe even buckwheat? Cracked corn? Do people eat that as a hot cereal? Anyway, you could throw in all sorts of other goodies, like flax seed or quinoa. Come to think of it, I guess I could do that too.

You know how if you make oatmeal or cream or wheat or grits, they sort of gloop together as they cool and form a really unappetizing lump?  Well, this one does that too, but it softens up again more easily because the particles are larger.  I just reheated some this morning and it was great once I mashed the lumps out (that was easy).

The changes I’ve made are:
-Moooooooooore fennel. This is the secret key to this dish. It fools your mouth into thinking it’s sweet when it’s not, so if you have a sweet tooth that doesn’t quit, like me, you can just add a tsp or so of sugar instead of a more embarrassing amount.  Mine has at least a Tb of fennel.
-Cardamom pod instead of ground cardamom. Really, people.
-More milk.
-Whole-grain bulgur. Then I ran out and got regular bulgur. They’re both good, but the WG takes a little more milk and time.
-Less fruit because berries are expensivo in The Place Where I Live. I dislike blueberries a lot, but I found them palatable in this dish. Raspberries have also been successful. I think it would be very good with peaches or strawberries or, hmm, dates. Again, I dislike dates as a rule, but this dish might be a good home for them.

Knock yerselves out.

About sayingthings

K lives in the US with her man and kiddos, knits, cans, dehydrates, bakes bread, (but doesn't cook regular food, particularly), crochets, spins, gardens, studies for a degree that never seems to end, and um, works. Sometimes she wastes time online. Also -- and family, she's looking at you here -- sometimes she swears and says things you might not agree with. But she still loves you.

Posted on July 8, 2009, in Food. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Well then, it actually sounds very interesting and if I could figure out what to sub it might be worth a try….I love fennel. Have you tried Agave Nectar. It’s sweet without being too sweet and might be a nice addition instead of sugar.

  2. Haven’t read your blog since you were here. I am enjoying it tonight, and it was fun to read your post on canning and then to find the Bengali breakfast grains (which I haven’t done since you were here either). I will make them again soon and try more fennel.

    Hey–how do you know when you have a comment–especially on an old blog–how do you find it?

Leave a Reply

