Alone

Today was the last day I got to spend with my younger brother before he moves out of state.

Do we look alike?  I already know the answer...

Do we look alike? I already know the answer...

He came by last night for a little farewell dinner, and Brad and I basically pressured him into seeing our mechanic to make sure his car would make it.  So now we’ve given him a big repair bill for his going away present (no, actually, Chris, I will be having another present sent to your new place.  And at least your car shouldn’t break down soon.)

So now I have no more siblings within several hundred miles.  Hence the post’s somewhat self-pitying title.  It was nice having you around the last eight or so years, Chris.

Our actual farewell (at the car shop, naturally) was about the equivalent of a fist-bump because that’s how we do things.  But Thanksgiving just isn’t going to be the same and who will sit in my home and show me videos on his laptop now?  I will miss him, and the kids will too.

K C H Chris_080509_3

Well, the older one will, the younger one might miss his buttons or something.

K C Chris_080509

Bon voyage, Chris.  I hope law school is all you wish.  And also?   Since you like to ask about it, I do not know why these pictures are fuzzy.  They don’t look that way not-on-the-blog, I swear they don’t.

And I just realized today we have never managed to not attend the same school with at least some overlap.  Never, dude.  Think about it — Bethune, Meridith, Travis, THS, BYU, and now UI.  It just gets weird there at the end.

Please tell me if people there seem crazy.  I really don’t know from here.  See if you can hang out in the Enviro Science dept for a little and let me know.  Please don’t mind poor fashion sense there as compared to those snazzy lawyers.

And I’ll see you sometime, hopefully before I travel up there for my own graduation.  Maybe we’ll graduate at the same time!  That would make Mom and Dad’s lives easier!

About sayingthings

K lives in the US with her man and kiddos, knits, cans, dehydrates, bakes bread, (but doesn't cook regular food, particularly), crochets, spins, gardens, studies for a degree that never seems to end, and um, works. Sometimes she wastes time online. Also -- and family, she's looking at you here -- sometimes she swears and says things you might not agree with. But she still loves you.

Posted on August 6, 2009, in Fambly. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

