New canner

Yesterday Brad canned.  I had my hands kind of full with a verrrrrrrry cranky baby and a sort of lippy kindergartener, so Brad performed most of the labor.  I stood just outside the kitchen with a baby on my hip and gave directions.

Evidence:

That’s 5 12-oz jar plus two 8-oz jars of pickled dilly beans (I usually do pickled beans with thyme, but the thyme, it is sad this year, and the dill is a-okay.  I still have a couple of jars from last year for comparison — I will be sure to provide a review when they’ve been directly compared.  To an audience with bated breath, I’m sure).  That’s also 8 pint jars of straight-up tomatoes.

The other cool thing about these two batches is that all of the produce is from our garden.  I was keeping track of the estimated value of our harvest.  We exceeded the $50 rental fee some time ago and I quit tracking it.  Despite the extreme cracking-and-rotting-on-the-vine of some of my tomato variety choices, the garden has definitely been a success.

About sayingthings

K lives in the US with her man and kiddos, knits, cans, dehydrates, bakes bread, (but doesn't cook regular food, particularly), crochets, spins, gardens, studies for a degree that never seems to end, and um, works. Sometimes she wastes time online. Also -- and family, she's looking at you here -- sometimes she swears and says things you might not agree with. But she still loves you.

Posted on September 13, 2009, in Fambly, Food. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Go Brad! I like reading about your gardening and canning efforts. It inspires me. I just scored some free pears, and I have some home-grown tomatoes to do something with. . . I need to get to it.

  2. Those look yummy! I remember getting a full flat of tomatoes a few years back and pressure-canning them … now that was an adventure. Must keep my eyes open for another flat this year, as they are all used up now.

Leave a Reply

