This and that

(1) No crochet edging for the Danish tie shawl, after consideration. Sorry, Anne. I do still like the idea, though, truly, and I will look for another project for which a fussy edge like that would be suitable. I think it would be better on a solid-colored item, since I’d prefer to do the edge in two colors. A baby blanket comes to mind and oh! I have a niece on the way this winter! And I’ve been thinking of a round baby blanket, just because they’re cool.

(2) Brad’s traveling to NY in a couple of weeks for a face-to-face interview. Sounds good to me, like we might be a-movin’. But I probably shouldn’t pack yet.

(3) Despite the uncertainty in #2, I dropped my Wetlands class, fearing I would not be able to finish it along with a move. The class requires a project regarding an actual local (to me) restored wetland — dudes, for what I know, all the water will be frozen in NY by the time I get there if I do get there at all. There’s a lake within walking distance that qualifies to my mind (and to various definitions) as a big honkin’ wetland, but I don’t know what, if any, restoration has ever been done on it. Also, it may well be frozen over, not sure if I mentioned that. Must I learn to ice skate right off?

(4) A friend of mine recently came through serious surgery with flying colors.   Hooray!  Her positive story has restored my faith (a little) in the medical community. That faith was about destroyed by my father’s experience with very serious illness a few years back. It contributed substantially to my choosing to have Baby C at home with a midwife last year (which was a great choice. Granted, it’s not entirely the same thing as, say, serious pneumonia or heart trouble, but still. It’s all hospitals. It’s related.)

(5) The fambly went to the State Fair for a song on Sunday. A good time was had and I discovered there is actually a local tatting organization. And also that when you are buying fresh-made ice cream, it’s just stupid to get the size called “Iddy Biddy Baby” instead of the size called “Double Scoop.” Stupid. Learn from my mistake, friends.

About sayingthings

K lives in the US with her man and kiddos, knits, cans, dehydrates, bakes bread, (but doesn't cook regular food, particularly), crochets, spins, gardens, studies for a degree that never seems to end, and um, works. Sometimes she wastes time online. Also -- and family, she's looking at you here -- sometimes she swears and says things you might not agree with. But she still loves you.

Posted on September 23, 2009, in Fambly, Knitting, Makin' Stuff. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. The shawl looks marvelous and doesn’t like need the edging. If every one of us had the same care I did, no matter what, this country would be a great place. Good luck to Brad (and you).

Leave a Reply

