Big day

Today is my second anniversary (I guess I’m supposed to say “our” anniversary, but really, it’s just me talking here.  My.)

All I’ve got for you is this lineup of images I like to remember from that day.  Normally I might be all gushy gushy and go on about how I’m lucky and happy to be married to Brad (I am) and how he’s a really good guy (he is) and how he’s kinda hot (true) and stuff like that, but I am distracted.

As of today, we are moving to Wanakena, NY in a very few weeks.  Year -round population: 52 (after we get there).  Go on, Google it.  Mostly, you’ll find some pretty pictures and sketchy climate information.  And the SUNY school information, if you’d like to become a forester.

You know, I hope this isn’t some terrible mistake.  There sure are a lot of people and places I love (really really love) here in Utah, but I’ve been straining to leave for years now.  Maybe that’s just a sign of immaturity; I don’t know.  As soon as moving seemed like a real possibility, my mind perversely reversed itself on Utah.  I thought if New York didn’t pan out I could just be happy here, and finally call it my real home.  I’ve been for years a place-attachment type person without a place to put my attachment.

But it has worked out, so it’s out for us, with sadness and hopeful anticipation.  Happy anniversary to me (us)!

About sayingthings

K lives in the US with her man and kiddos, knits, cans, dehydrates, bakes bread, (but doesn't cook regular food, particularly), crochets, spins, gardens, studies for a degree that never seems to end, and um, works. Sometimes she wastes time online. Also -- and family, she's looking at you here -- sometimes she swears and says things you might not agree with. But she still loves you.

Posted on October 14, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I forgot to say, Happy Anniversary! I used to think it was just a private thing for couples to commemorate, but I have reversed myself. I am very happy that you are together. Congratulations on your anniversary and your exciting news

  2. Happy Anniversary! Big change is hard at first because everything is so foreign and you need to relearn the simple things, like groceries and such. But it seems a fine adventure for you…one you’ll find rewarding and enjoyable. Hope to see you before you go! I am going to miss you!!!

  3. knittingunderwater

    Happy Anniversary!!! And what exciting news!!! Moving is hard, starting a new life in a different part of the country is hard, but you will look back and not remember that part (trust me on this one). And when you want to move back, you can! So no worries on that one, head off and enjoy!!!!

  4. Woah! Good luck with the move!

  5. Yeah, happy anniversary. You guys planned and executed a great ceremony.

    So it’s official huh? N.Y. Upstate-EXTREME!

    The pictures look pretty, and the remoteness is kinda exciting.

    I wonder how it smells. I’m smell-curious. It’ll be fun to visit you if you still live there when I feel comfortable enough to pay for travel that far away.

  6. Hi – saw you on Vi’s blog. If you ever venture to south of Syracuse you have a friend in NY – ME 🙂
    Good luck to you. That part of NY is beautiful but not too much going on (sorry).
    And it will smell like pine. And woodsmoke for most of the year. 😀
    Welcome to NY.

Leave a Reply

