Spring!

  1. Surprise! Look what somebody, sometime, planted against the front of the house!

  2. Birds.  There are Robins, folks,  twittering and hopping about.  And a flicker or two.  And Red-winged blackbirds trilling away in the marsh.  And geese standing around and flying over and honking away.  And some kind of wrens.  They won’t hold still so I can see them.  And a nuthatch out front.  And a bald eagle.  OK, that’s not really spring-ish, but I haven’t seen it since December, and yesterday I got a good close look.  And he got a good close look at me too so now we’re friends or maybe not. He was carefully stepping around on the ice in the marsh pecking at something.  I speculate it was whatever remained of the deer the coyotes took down at about that spot a couple of weeks ago.  And I guess that’s spring-ish because I was out for a walk, not cowering inside from the cold.
  3. Six gallons from this...

    ... plus seven hours of boiling yields just under a quart of this. It made the house bleed in a strange, haunted-seeming way. The drips looked like syrup, but they did not taste like syrup. I recommend not licking unknown substances off your walls.

  4. The ice is melting.  It’s mostly gone right now.  For the moment, the water is running in the river

    There was no dramatic ice-out in the river this year. Maybe next year.

    and it comes and goes in the marsh.

    Mostly goes.

  5. The garden is starting to come out of planning and into execution.  There are parsley and sensitive plant seeds sown (yes, sensitive plant.  I am willing to grow a few non-consumables). This is one hat made to protect a bed from varmints.  At least until stuff is about 19″ tall.  Next steps are constructing the beds, filling with soil, and constructing more hats and some vertical supports.  And sticking to the indoor seeding schedule, of course.
  6. Springtime got to our elected officials in DC, because they actually did something last week.  They must have been desperate to get outside and luxuriate in the sun.  What we need to avoid this type of thing?  Skylights in the capital.  And full-spectrum desk lamps.   Maybe tanning beds?  Get on it, folks.
  7. Rain gear for the kids is obtained.  C’s boots are way too big.
  8. There have been family visits, not very well documented.

    Abusing the visitors

  9. When I look up from my computer I often see this

    It's starting to affect my already self-conscious consciousness. Also affecting? The way I misspelled self-conscious first try.

About sayingthings

K lives in the US with her man and kiddos, knits, cans, dehydrates, bakes bread, (but doesn't cook regular food, particularly), crochets, spins, gardens, studies for a degree that never seems to end, and um, works. Sometimes she wastes time online. Also -- and family, she's looking at you here -- sometimes she swears and says things you might not agree with. But she still loves you.

Posted on March 31, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. It looks more like spring in your neighborhood than ours! We’re getting a new dusting of snow.
    I’m scratching my head in wonder why anyone would be licking walls especially in a haunted house. 😉
    Love your cat…too funny.

  2. knittingunderwater

    It looks like the world around you is waking up, and is going to be just beautiful! Yummy maple syrup! Did that stare make you order 10 cases of toona yet?

    • I’m late answering, but I must say — my cat? No tuna. I’m mean.

      It’s because she’s a licker. She licks like a dog, and I really can’t abide the tuna breath. Isn’t it enough that I woke up in the middle of last night to find her throwing up on my hip?

      However, if she wants other forms of treats, the stare might work. I have never found a treat she likes, though. She is such a neurotic little being.

      -Katherine

Leave a Reply

