UKKHHH

That is C’s first for-sure word:  ukkkhhh.  He says it maybe 300 times a day.  It means truck,and the kiddo has keen ears for passing vehicles, keen eyes for pictures or trucks, and of course, toy trucks, so there is ample need for pointing out trucks.  It’s an ukkhhh world and has been for a few weeks now.  He feels no need, it seems, to move onto other expressions.  He is content with expressing his one idea repeatedly.

Not true, he also says bah (for bye, and maybe for book and maybe for ball) and hi, when playing telephone.  But he only says these other words rarely.

He also got a haircut.  A first real haircut sure ages a person.

H and C have been playing together really well lately.  They are just wrapping up a long session of sit-and-pretend, which was broken up when C ripped a piece of paper that was intended to represent a cupcake.  It lasted about 30 minutes, peacefully, though.

H went fishing this week for the first time.  He was very upset by the discovery that you don’t catch a fish every time you go fishing, but I think he’s come to grips with it now and has been earnestly teaching the 4-year-old neighbor boy the same lesson.  Once my new driver license comes (soon, hopefully) I’ll be able to get a fishing license and it will be easier to take H out fishing.  I swear there will be a picture of the first fish landed.  I hope to heaven it’s not a pike, as those are SCARY and TOOTHY.

The garden is all prepped and a very few seeds are planted out there, with more scheduled this week.  I’ve decided to start fewer things indoors than I had originally planned, so I hope that’s not a mistake for the cucumbers, the Belgian endive, the swiss chard, or the broccoli raab.   Yes, I realize many of those things are already pretty hardy, but I’m impatient, okay?  I did start some peppers and brussels sprouts today.  Both of those are things I had thought I wouldn’t grow, but changed my mind last minute.  I have doubts that the peppers will work out (they’re hot peppers, but I don’t know what kind — seed from a neighbor).  I also have doubts about the sprouts, but my love of sprouts is such that I was overcome and am doing it anyway.

Also, I’m pretty convinced now that I will need to put up a fence.  I’m looking at electric fences and have apologized mentally in advance to C for the shock he is sure to eventually get.  I know it won’t really hurt him; I hope it doesn’t make him hate gardens and soil too much.

I’ve been stalling on this post until I had pictures, but I guess the perfect is the enemy of the good.  That saying has been on my mind a lot lately and explains a lot of challenges.

About sayingthings

K lives in the US with her man and kiddos, knits, cans, dehydrates, bakes bread, (but doesn't cook regular food, particularly), crochets, spins, gardens, studies for a degree that never seems to end, and um, works. Sometimes she wastes time online. Also -- and family, she's looking at you here -- sometimes she swears and says things you might not agree with. But she still loves you.

Posted on April 13, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. My brother loved wheels, trucks, cars, and eventually, airplanes. He is now an engineer.
    Good luck with the garden! After living in a condo you’re going to have a blast playing in the dirt.

  2. I accidentally shocked myself on our electric fence as a kid once, and I don’t hate cow pastures now. It will be okay. 🙂

  3. Good to hear about your progress. The perfect is the enemy of the good has also been on my mind–and a very important thing for me to remember. I first heard it about a month ago.

Leave a Reply

