Winter break

Last week was mid-winter break for H’s school. So I promptly got sick with the flu and had the fun misery of being sick, the misery of having a two-year-old yell at me for being sick and unable to cater to his every whim, and the guilt of ruining H’s school vacation by being lame.

So we tried to make up for it this weekend, by which time I was mostly better. He’ll be SEVEN this week! We partied early.

Then yesterday we went skiing. I’ve gone once before, around 15 years ago. It was a total disaster, and something I never wanted to do again. But I don’t want my kids to miss the opportunity to learn to ski before adulthood and risk the same experience as me, so off we went to Big Tupper.

Big Tupper is a great resort. It’s small. It got shut down years ago and the people of Tupper got together and re-opened it last year. They run it — all on volunteer labor. I believe they are hoping that a business takes it on now that it’s re-opened, but I’m not sure. For now, it’s a lovely family ski place, and it’s insanely cheap. Cheap enough that we could afford lift passes, equipment rentals, and 1.5 hours of private lessons for each of us and could swing it again any good weekends that are left in the season.

When I got to the top of the mountain, though, I still panicked and fell down every time I possibly found the opportunity. I’m going to go back, though. I’m going to learn to ski without panicking. And I better do it soon, because then I need to take H down the big hill. He’s in love with skiing. I am shocked, I tell you, but pleased.

But first, the ice show is this weekend. I’ve made all 19-bazillion little Sgt. Pepper Lonely Hearts Club Band-inspired jackets and all that remains is for the 19-bazillion children in my group to go out and skate without falling down. Too much. Video pending.

Unrelated pictures from November, mainly from our Thanksgiving trip to Philadelphia and environs:

Big boots

Rainbow Falls, back when we could see the ground

One must start learning baseball stats early to get the necessary edge

That bell is not as interesting as I've always always always expected it to be.

Glee! With famous dead people.

C discovers electricity

About sayingthings

K lives in the US with her man and kiddos, knits, cans, dehydrates, bakes bread, (but doesn't cook regular food, particularly), crochets, spins, gardens, studies for a degree that never seems to end, and um, works. Sometimes she wastes time online. Also -- and family, she's looking at you here -- sometimes she swears and says things you might not agree with. But she still loves you.

Posted on March 1, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Love the little Big Tupper 🙂 I hope you had a great time skiing, and are perfectly healthy now.

    And thanks for the love–I can always use more of it!

  2. It’s so nice to hear from you (and see you). It’s unbelievable to see how much your kids have changed and grown!

  3. So good to hear from you. I’ve been wanting to talk to you.
    Mom said you were busy sewing, but it is good to hear that you are done.

    You’re a good parent, exposing your kids to skiing young. My kids will have to do it on their own. I’m glad Holden loves it.

Leave a Reply

