Writing club for teens

You might be tempted to think that this post’s title is somehow metaphorical. I am certainly tempted that way. However, it is as literal as can be. Today was the first day of the after-school writing club I’ve started at the local school for grades 6-12.

I was nervous. I am not a teacher, and have no desire to be such. I don’t like explaining things to people, generally. I don’t get a big kick out seeing people “get it” (unless we’re talking about spinning. I do, in fact, get a huge ass kick out of that. But we’re not talking about spinning.) I don’t generally have a lot of patience. Come to think of it, that probably makes me a really bad parent. But let’s not go onto that tangent, ‘kay?

I volunteered for this. I thought of the whole thing. I talked it up at P.T.O. meetings. I was stoked. So when I felt like balking these past couple of weeks, I really just couldn’t. I was stuck. Tied by my own enthusiasm for the idea of being someone who I am not, only not on stage where nobody can really interact with me. In a room with a bunch of stranger kids who may or may not want to be there and may or may not hate me. And without any adult supervision to make sure I don’t accidentally say anything that rates as super-inappropriate-I-should-be-banned-from-all-future-interaction-with-students.

There’s another problem with me running a teen writing club. I don’t write. Not in the sense that teens write, anyway. I mean, I write this blog occasionally. But I am really a poseur with creative writing– such an one that I write it that way instead of just “poser.” I used to not even read poetry, really, until I met Brad, and then I only started to barely read poetry.

But here’s the moral at the end of the story: it was fun. They all wrote today; they all shared. They were obnoxious, but only in very amusing ways. I had to work hard to not just hang out with them, but direct the group toward writing. I look forward to next week. And I hope all of them decide to share their work at the Coffee House event we’re putting together in May. At least for the sake of getting free coffee. Because what could be more fun than posing as a writing mentor for a bunch of teens? Getting a bunch of teens all caffeinated on a Friday night!

I think I shall start writing cinquains and posting them on Facebook. Maybe they can all be about death, just like teen writing.Yup. It’s a plan.

About sayingthings

K lives in the US with her man and kiddos, knits, cans, dehydrates, bakes bread, (but doesn't cook regular food, particularly), crochets, spins, gardens, studies for a degree that never seems to end, and um, works. Sometimes she wastes time online. Also -- and family, she's looking at you here -- sometimes she swears and says things you might not agree with. But she still loves you.

Posted on March 24, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Fantastic! Olivia and I are reading A Kick In the Head right now, so we’ve learned all about cinquains. I’d love to read yours. 🙂

  2. Writing club? Are you serious?

    I’m glad it went well. Keep us posted about how it continues.

Leave a Reply

