Down the Rabbit Hole

Well, I’m now the owner of another tatting needle and another shuttle.   I have discovered a definite preference for the Clover shuttles I have in my possession, over that metal Victorian-style shuttle from Lacis, and the metal Susan Bates hook shuttle.  I’d love to get an Aero shuttle and try it out.  I also need to learn to use the needles for anything other than rings-only work.  I am very excited about the needles.  They feel more natural to me.  I have a video from the library on needle tatting, and can hopefully watch it sometime this week.

Here’s some recent practice:

IMG_1148Pattern here, thread #30, some DMC cordonnet, I think, I picked up second-hand.  I love this little bookmark, despite its flaws (in execution, not the pattern).  Look!  My first split rings!

IMG_1151Pattern here.  From Aunt Lydia’s Crochet Cotton,#10.  The picture in the pattern is fuzzy, and I did the bottom of the cross differently from what it specified.

IMG_1152Brad’s favorite — pattern here.  From Royale Classic Crochet Cotton, #10, color Ocean.  I enjoyed this, but for some reason the petals on the flowers want to twist a lot.  I’m actually doing another one in rainbow thread, and finding it is happening again.  Maybe I need to loosen up the tension on them.

About sayingthings

K lives in the US with her man and kiddos, knits, cans, dehydrates, bakes bread, (but doesn't cook regular food, particularly), crochets, spins, gardens, studies for a degree that never seems to end, and um, works. Sometimes she wastes time online. Also -- and family, she's looking at you here -- sometimes she swears and says things you might not agree with. But she still loves you.

Posted on May 13, 2009, in Makin' Stuff, Tatting. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment